You Can Get A DUI While You’re Asleep in the Backseat

As a DUI School, we speak with our students often about their circumstances and what lead to them driving drunk. They range from your average, but unfortunate “I had one beer too many and didn’t realize I was drunk” to the extreme of crashing their car into their own home while drunk. But, the question of whether someone sleeping off their drunkenness in the backseat of their car should be charged with a DUI is a different question. Nevada law test hello test (known as the Nevada Revised Statutes) states that if a drivers keys are within their grasp as a driver and their is alcohol in their system they can be charged with a DUI. Even asleep in the backseat of a car turned off with the keys within reaching distance of the occupant of the car, an officer has [...]

You Can Get A DUI While You’re Asleep in the Backseat2024-02-19T08:02:35-07:00

The Facts of Drunk Driving & DUI Class

It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that drinking any alcohol and driving 4000 pounds of car can cost you a life… yours or someone else. The downside to easily killing someone is the loss of your freedom, your current and future bank account and a great deal of time in court, jail, and classes. The more frequently you drink and drive, the greater the probability that you will eventually be arrested or attend an online DUI school. Then have to explain to your spouse and friends why you need a ride to work or school.   So you have to ask yourself, is drinking and driving really worth all the risk?  The intelligent answer is no.  Notice I used the word intelligent. Deciding to consume alcohol knowing that you’re going to drive later on this the same as playing craps at the casino. Eventually the house wins [...]

The Facts of Drunk Driving & DUI Class2023-11-13T20:12:54-07:00

Insurance & DUIs in Nevada

Why Is Auto Insurance Required By Nevada Law? Auto Insurance is NOT optional in Nevada. If you drive a vehicle on Nevada roads, it MUST be insured. Another reality... auto insurance is expensive.  If you own a vehicle, but it is stored and have no intention of driving it, you must turn in the vehicle’s license plate to the NV DMV. Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry minimum coverage of $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident; and $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. If you think about it, $15,000 for bodily injury of another person will cover the cost of and then wants and a couple of aspirin in the emergency room. If the injured victim has medical expenses that [...]

Insurance & DUIs in Nevada2024-02-19T08:16:51-07:00